The workflow for SAM consignments is designed to be used in a specific way. This recognises that a Consignment Note sent to a Gallery is a legal document that should not be edited once finalised.
If you are still working out pricing with a gallery, use the Preview function to communicate pricing before converting to a Consignment.
Note that a Preview can only be converted to a Consignment if the customer is set up as a Gallery customer.
Learn how to create a Preview
Learn how to convert a Preview to a Consignment
Setting up Consignment
Artworks are still at the Art Centre
When you first create a consignment it will be a draft, which allows you to edit it as needed before dispatching it.
If an item is on a Draft consignment and is added to a Sale, the system flags that this item is on Consignment. This is to prevent items that are meant to be consigned to a Gallery, but are still at the Art Centre, from accidentally being sold.
Draft Consignments can be edited as long as there are no SOLD items, as you can't send items that are already SOLD to a Gallery customer to be consigned.
The SOLD items need to be removed from the Consignment before editing can continue. At this point, the items are still at the Art Centre and haven't been freighted to the Gallery customer.
Dispatching a Consignment
Artworks have left the Art Centre
Once the final items and prices have been agreed upon with the Gallery and the works have been freighted, change the status of the Consignment by Dispatching.
At this point, there should be no changes to items or pricing as the Consignment note forms a contract with the Gallery.
The Consignment can no longer be edited.
If pricing changes after the Consignment has been dispatched, you can return the item/s and then redo pricing on a new Consignment.
Invoicing the Gallery Customer
Learn how to raise an invoice for items that have been sold by the Gallery customer on a Dispatched consignment.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.